Taking the road less traveled

Home » Uncategorized » Amy Metz Interviewed – Author of Murder and Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction

Amy Metz Interviewed – Author of Murder and Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction

Contact me

Image

I got the opportunity to interview Amy Metz and people, you really need to go buy her book here http://www.amazon.com/Murder-Mayhem-Goose-Pimple-Junction/dp/0985138874/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359617570&sr=8-1&keywords=amy+metz

 
What is your journey? How did you come to be who you are and where you are?

My journey. Hmmm. Well, I graduated with a degree in Elementary Education, and I taught first grade before my children were born. Once they came along, I was a stay-at-home mom, and I did the PTA gig for about twelve years. I learned a lot about people during that time, namely that I prefer the company of my dog. Because of some health issues (and my newfound hermit status) I did nothing but housework and read for two years. I think my family took bets on how many books I would read each week. But truthfully, if it hadn’t been for that time, I don’t think I’d be writing today.
 
In 2009, my mother was diagnosed with dementia, and I began spending a lot of time with her—and most of it was frustrating, maddening, and exasperating. I needed an outlet, so I began writing about my experiences caring for a fiercely independent aging parent with dementia. It was therapeutic, but living it and writing about it was depressing. So I began writing a humorous mystery, revolving around a murder in my family’s history.
 
I joined an online writing critique site, and through it I learned of a small press that was accepting submissions. To my complete surprise, they wanted Murder & Mayhem In Goose Pimple Junction, and it was published in August 2012. These days, I’m shopping my memoir about my mother, promoting GPJ, and writing the third book in my mystery series. Ten years ago, I wasn’t writing, but today I can’t imagine not. I probably spend 95% of my time either reading or writing.
 
Is there any book that has changed your life?
 
Oooh, that’s a hard one. I’m not sure there’s any one book. I’d say there’s a combination of books that have led me to where I am now.
 
If yes, which one and how?
 
I basically read two kinds of novels: mystery and chick lit. If a book combines the two, then I’m really happy, and I suppose that’s why I write what I do.
 
How many hours do you read in a week?
 
That depends on the week. I probably spend most of my time “reading” audiobooks. If I’m cooking, or doing laundry, or driving, or getting dressed, I’m listening to an audiobook.
When I’m out and have some dead time, I pull out my phone or Kindle and read.
Right now I don’t read a whole lot at home, but whenever my imaginary friends stop talking to me, which they do from time to time, I like holding a hardcopy book in my hands and reading. I really have no idea how many hours I read.
 
Do you read on paper or on devices?
 
Oops, I guess I just answered that one. The short answer would be mostly on devices (iPhone or Kindle), a little bit on paper. The weird part about that is, I prefer paper.
 
What are the top ten lines that you have read in a book?
 
Ty, I first thought this was a really hard question because only a few lines came to mind. But as I thought about it, I found this a really hard question to answer because it’s hard to limit it to only ten. So I’m not sure what the top ten would be, but I can tell you some I love.
  • The one line that first comes to mind is possibly my all time favorite: Jane Austin’s “You must allow me to tell you how much I ardently admire and love you.” Sigh.
After that, I could probably fill up the other nine (and more) with quotes from William Goldman’s Princess Bride. There are SO many in that book that I love:
  • “Sonny, don’t you tell me what’s worthwhile–true love is the best thing in the world, except for cough drops. Everybody knows that.”
  • “My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”
  • “Her heart was a secret garden and the walls were very high.”
In an attempt to share the love (or not be so boring) some other favorites, in no particular order are:
  • Robert B. Parker’s “She was often wrong, but never uncertain.”
  • Charlotte Bronte’s “Reader, I married him.”
  • John Sandford’s “Time passes, but sometimes it beats the shit out of you as it goes.”
  • J.K. Rowling’s “If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”
  • Fannie Flagg’s “I wonder how many people never get the one they want, but end up with the one they’re supposed to have.”
  • Judith Viorst’s “It was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.”
  • Robert James Waller’s “Once a person knows a kiss and a kind word, you can’t blame him for never wanting to live without them again.”
  • A.A. Milne’s “Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”
 
If you had to read any one book to save someone’s life, which one would it be?
 
The Bible.
 

 

2 Comments

  1. Amy Metz says:

    Thank you for a great interview, Ty!

  2. Dru says:

    great interview.

Leave a Reply

Past Musings

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Warrior by Ty Patterson – Indiebook of the Day, 13th April 2013

Word Wenches Guilty Pleasure

Five wenches who spout honest reviews, pimp the hell out of authors, create custom swag, offer editing services, and all that jazz.

Vampires, Crime and Angels...Eclectic Me

Random thoughts, posts and pictures that inspire my writing.

All That's Written ...

Lucy Pireel - Author, reader, and blogger

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Mobile Home-Portable home - Interior container - Structure container - Container home for rent

mobile home,prefabricated home,,portable home,home container,container house,interior container,structure container,nhà container,cau truc container,container

Tagh's Books

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

It's not my fault.

© Wendi Bear 2017

M.E. Kinkade

Science fiction author | Destroyer of Worlds

man of yesterday

ENTER A WORLD OF BOOKS, MOVIES, BOARD GAMES and MORE...

PolitiBooks

Books, Reviews & Interviews covering Political and Historical books & more

jennie orbell

Blogger of Everyday Stuff and Nonsense. Author.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

olbigjim

A blog in which tales are told, authors are interviewed, and books are reviewed.

The Eccentric Writer

This WordPress.com site is Independent book reviews, writing, publishing and marketing tips

Books Direct

Books for the Whole Family

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Written by Deb

A new writer's journey

